If you have been arrested for DUI (driving under the influence) in Atlanta, Georgia, you will need an attorney that has experience and knowledge regarding Georgia drunk driving laws and an attorney who will fight to defend your rights and protect your future.
While DUI is a relatively common offense throughout Atlanta and the surrounding areas, it is also a very serious criminal offense that can result in a number of severe penalties, including mandatory jail time, community service, fines, driver’s license suspension, probation and a DUI rehabilitation program. When facing DUI charges, a driver may be left feeling confused and helpless. The Georgia criminal court process is complex and a layperson will stand little or no chance of reaching a successful case outcome without an attorney who has experience with Georgia drunk driving laws.
LeRoya Jennings is a former prosecutor in DeKalb County with extensive training and knowledge regarding DUI laws. As a criminal defense attorney, LeRoya provides representation to clients facing all types of DUI charges, including:
- Breath Test Refusals
- Out of State DUI
- Multiple DUI
- DUI Accidents
- DUI of Drugs
- Felony DUI
- DUI With Injury
- Underage DUI
- Breath Test Refusals
Building a successful defense strategy in the face of drunk driving charges may be complex, and may require a thorough review of every single aspect of your case.
ALS (Administrative License Suspension) Hearings in Atlanta â€“ The Ten Day Rule
The 10 day period after a DUI arrest is very important in Georgia. One of the most severe consequences of a Georgia DUI charge is the loss of your privilege to drive in Georgia for up to one year. Simply stated, if you do not follow exact steps for requesting a hearing within 10 business days of your arrest, in most cases, the Georgia Department of Driver Services will automatically suspend your driver’s license.
The request for an administrative license suspension hearing must be made in writing and is completely separate from the criminal case against you. If you refused to test, it is also important to note that there are no hardship exceptions to the one-year suspension, such as driving to and from work, taking children to school, etc. If you miss the deadline, you cannot drive.
Saving your license can be the single-most important benefit of contacting an attorney immediately upon being charged.
Whether you or a loved one is facing a felony, misdemeanor, or other crime, contact Chester Jennings & Smith, LLC.